A veggie burger is a vegetarian hamburger. The patty of a veggie burger can be made from vegetables, nuts, dairy, mushrooms, textured vegetable protein (TVP), or a combination of these. They are sometimes vegan.
Veggie burgers are available in a growing number of fast-food restaurants in the U.S., but availability may vary geographically or even among particular restaurants of the same franchise. As of April 2005, veggie burgers were available in all Burger King restaurants (although, not vegan : http://www.vegparadise.com/news15.html), and certain Subway restaurants. Many "greasy spoon" cafes as well as top-of-the-range eateries also offer veggie burgers as an option. In places like India where vegetarianism is popular, McDonald's serves veggie burgers as it is one of the primary hot sellers.
The first veggie burger was created, in London, by Gregory Sams in 1982, calling it the 'VegeBurger'. Gregory and his brother Craig had run a famous natural food restaurant in Paddington since the 1960s. A Carrefour hypermarket in Southampton sold 2000 packets in three weeks after its launch, which was reported in The Observer newspaper on February 27, 1983.